The Death of My Fear of Death

Casey Connelly
4 min readAug 19, 2021

You are on top of the Empire State Building, 1,250 feet stand between you and the ground. Most people’s first thought is something along the lines of “I wouldn’t survive this fall.”

This mindset to fear death in almost every situation has been programmed in us since the dawn of creation. And for good reason. It is how a species survives danger at every turn. But, what if I told you that the fear of death no longer serves this purpose. In fact, it is the exact thing blocking the evolution of humankind.

How so? Let me explain how the death of my fear of death elevated my experience of life.

To Fear or Not to Fear

Let’s start at the beginning.

I was always told as a child not to be scared. That fear is the only thing holding me back from experiencing life, like the thrill of a roller coaster I didn’t want to ride. Even as an adult, it seems that to conquer my fear of something is an achievement well-rewarded with merit and psychological gain.

However, for every idea there is an opposing idea. For the notion of death, there is a line drawn in the spectrum of fear to whom most will not cross. If you had no fear then you could get injured. Your instinct keeps you at bay, creating a boundary to show your brain when to overcome and when to step away.

--

--

Casey Connelly

I love questioning the world we live in through experience. Nothing exists unless you have experienced it. My writing is personal and filled with discovery.