Being Woke Doesn’t Mean You’re Awake

Casey Connelly
4 min readOct 4, 2023

Although both terms sound and mean almost the same thing, the truth is that being woke isn’t like being awakened at all.

The only similarity between the two is that you “wake up” as the terms imply. But getting woke is like waking up in a dream. You think you are in control. You think you are aware of reality, but yet you are still in the dream simulation.

Wokeness is still part of the illusion. But it is this illusion that can catapult you into awakening. For just like waking up in a dream, you eventually realize that you are still dreaming yet you have become lucid, free.

This is the path that I followed years ago…

Like most liberals, I was extremely empathetic. I wanted to change the world’s circumstances, using outside “causes” to fix the many problems that I witnessed. I believed controlling the forces outside myself was the answer to the pain I felt inside. But you can’t change a computer program by banging on the screen. You have to change the code and the only way to do that is to change yourself.

This realization began the process of going from woke to awake and here is where I found the key differences between the two.

What it means to be woke

--

--

Casey Connelly

I love questioning the world we live in through experience. Nothing exists unless you have experienced it. My writing is personal and filled with discovery.